2017-18 Visiting Scholars

Toshiyuki Baba – Japan
ba2@hosei.ac.jp
Toshiyuki Baba is an economics professor at Hosei University Japan. He is currently studying the economic effects of the promotion of the automobile industry in developing countries. He is sponsored by Michael Reich and will be at the IRLE from April 2017 through March 2018.

Niklas Blomqvist – Sweden
niklas.blomqvist@ne.su.se
Niklas Blomqvist is a PhD Student at the Department of Economics, Stockholm University. He is currently researching empirical labor economics in the fields of immigration, education and the labor market. He is sponsored by Emmanuel Saez and will be at the IRLE from August 2017 through February 2018.

Maria Brunborg Hoen – Norway
maria.hoen@gmail.com
Maria Brunborg Hoen is a PhD student at the Frisch Center/University of Oslo. She is currently researching labor migration. She is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from August 2017 to December 2017.

Domenico Depalo – Italy
domenico.depalo@bancaditalia.it
Domenico Depalo is an economist at Bank of Italy. He is currently researching students’ return to education around the European Union. He is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from September 2017 through April 2018.

Lisa Degalle – France
lisa.degalle@gmail.com
Lisa Degalle is a graduate student in Economics at Toulouse School of Economics. She is currently researching retirement savings and income in the US, and their ties to social security programs expenditure. She is sponsored by Nari Rhee and will be at the IRLE from September 2017 through May 2018.

Lori KletzerLori Kletzer – United States
lori.kletzer@colby.edu
Lori Kletzer is a professor at Colby College. She is currently researching the impacts of globalization on the domestic labor market and policy responses. She is sponsored by Jesse Rothstein and will be at the IRLE from September 2017 through May 2018.

Benno KochBenno Koch – Germany
koch220988@berkeley.edu
Benno Koch is a PhD student at the LMU Munich. He is currently researching the effects of work councils and the quality of apprenticeship training in Germany. He is sponsored by Michael Reich and will be at the IRLE from March 2018 to August 2018.​

David LoschiavoDavid Loschiavo – Italy
david.loschiavo@bancaditalia.it
David Loschiavo is an economist at Bank of Italy. He is currently researching i) the nexus between income inequality and household debt; ii) the effects of urban agglomeration on subjective well-being. He is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from January 2018 through July 2018.

Aleksandra Parteka – Poland
aparteka@zie.pg.gda.pl
Aleksandra Parteka is an associate professor at Gdansk University of Technology (Gdansk, Poland) and senior Fulbright awardee. She is currently researching on labor market consequences of trade and global value chains. She is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from February 2018 through June 2018.

Filip Pertold – Czech Republic
filip.pertold@cerge-ei.cz
Filip Pertold is a reasearcher at CERGE-EI and Charles University. He is currently working on various topics in gender, family and public economics. He is sponzored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from February 2018 through May 2018.

Barbara Pertold-Gebicka – Czech Republic
gebicka@fsv.cuni.cz
Barbara Pertold-Gebicka is an assistant professor at Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic. She is currently researching family structure and subjective wellbeing. She is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from January 2018 through June 2018.

Martin SeelgerMartin Seeliger – Germany
martin.seeliger@gmx.net
Martin Seeliger is an assistant professor at Europa-Universität Flensburg, Germany. He is currently working on a manuscript on European trade union Internationalism. He is sponsored by Neil Fligstein and will be at IRLE from January 2018 through March 2018.

Celine Teney – Germany
celine.teney@uni-bremen.de
Celine Teney is a professor at the University of Bremen. She is currently researching job-skill mismatches among highly skilled immigrants in the US and western Europe. She is sponsored by Irene Bloemraad and will be at the IRLE from October 2017 through February 2018.

Elina Tuominen – Finland
elina.tuominen@uta.fi
Elina Tuominen is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Tampere. Her research topics are income inequality and its links to redistribution and economic growth. She is sponsored by Emmanuel Saez and will be at the IRLE from June 2017 through November 2017.

Tuomo Virkola – Finland
tuomo.virkola@eui.eu
Tuomo Virkola is a graduate student at the European University Institute. He is currently researching the role of internships in early career outcomes for college graduates and the effects of migration inflows on local communities. He is sponsored by David Card and will be at the IRLE from August 2017 through December 2017.